Like this you can easily optimize your mobile app with remote usability testings.

With Remote Usability Testing you receive valuable feedback for your mobile apps. The test persons are comfortably at home in their familiar environment. Especially with UX testing, the greatest challenge in remote testing is to observe and successfully survey the test subjects during and after testing. With a few technical tricks, however, this can be successfully mastered.

Option 1: Live Streaming

Look Back is a good example of a complete solution for home testing. Via the streaming console, you and your team members can follow the testing in real time, ask interposed questions, moderate or comment. Just like in the lab. Only independent of location. With Screen-Recording you record the testings for analysis. These applications are also ideal for remote usability testing of websites or web-based applications.

With tools such as “Look Back” we have full control over the test procedures and ensure results and a successful optimization of your app or website. (Image source: Look Back)

Option 2: Recording and eye tracking

If you want to test a larger number of users – but still with a qualitative approach – choose the path with emotion tracking or eye tracking. The test subject starts the application to be tested from a special app. This app then records the image of the user via the internal mobile phone camera. The video image is analyzed by two algorithms. Thus, the movement of the gaze and the emotion can be measured simultaneously.

The camera captures the user’s face during testing and analyzes their eye movement and facial expressions. (Image source: UXReality)

6 tips on how to properly prepare your Remote User Testing:

Using tools detached from experience or the appropriate preparation can lead to frustrating experiences. So here are a few valuable tips on how to lay the foundation for successful app optimization:

1. define test goals

Clear objectives lead to clear and measurable results.
Do you have “suspicions” about possible weaknesses of your product?
To do: Formulate three bullet points with hoped-for “learnings

2. select test method

Depending on your defined goal, a different test method is used:
UX testing or usability testing. Experience testing (UX) and usability testing serve two different fields of action for the optimization of your app.

“Usability” is the way a product can be used by users to achieve certain goals. Usability testing aims to find out to what extent the design is easy to use and whether the operation is understandable.

“User Experience”
is the functional perception of the product. An important component of user experience tests is the observation of movements and emotions as well as the additional questioning of the user.

3. define test stories

Comparable values are needed for effective analysis of the testings. For this reason, the test persons are assigned various short “test tasks”. For example, for a marketplace app: “Are you looking for a city bike below the price limit of CHF 200?
To do: Write down 4-6 clearly formulated tasks.

4. prepare test guide & test protocol

No testing without a plan. The test script is the guideline with which the moderator accompanies the test subject step by step through the tasks, while the observing person already notes observations in the test protocol.
To do: Create a document for test guidelines and protocol.

5. define and recruit test subjects

The test persons must be the future users of the product. For example, an app for migraines cannot be evaluated by someone who has never experienced migraine attacks. For barrier-free products, testing with people with disabilities is therefore indispensable. You will receive valuable tips.
To do: Recruit test persons via appropriate service providers. Access to people with disabilities is best obtained through specific associations.

6. test documentation

Record the testing on video whenever possible. In order to be able to pass on the findings of your testing to internal stakeholders or your design or development team in a comprehensible way, we recommend that you arrange the documentation by test story. In an introduction, briefly describe the general conditions of the testing.
To do: Prepare video setup

May we support you?

Have fun trying it out and good luck with your testings. If you would like us to support you in the analysis and optimization of your digital touchpoints, please contact us without obligation. Our team will be happy to assist you in preparing and carrying out remote user testing for your app or website.

Our services:

  • Create prototypes
  • Recruit test persons
  • Writing the test guideline
  • Organization and implementation of the testing
  • Analysis and reporting
  • Design implementation of the improvements

Would you like to get to know the user perspective of your product?

Contact us.
We would be pleased to show you the
next steps.

=

So einfach optimieren Sie Ihre Mobile App mit Remote Usability Testings.

Mit Remote Usability Testing erhalten Sie wertvolle Rückmeldungen für Ihre Mobile Apps. Wobei sich die Testpersonen bequem zuhause in Ihrem gewohnten Umfeld befinden. Gerade bei UX-Testing ist die grösste Herausforderung im Remote Testing das Beobachten und die erfolgreiche Befragung während und nach dem Testing. Mit ein paar technischen Tricks ist dies jedoch erfolgreich zu meistern.

Variante 1: Live Streaming

Look Back ist ein gutes Beispiel für eine Komplettlösung rund um das «Home Testing» Über die Streaming-Konsole können Sie und Ihre Teammitglieder das Testing in Echtzeit mitverfolgen, Zwischenfragen stellen, moderieren oder Kommentieren. Wie im Labor. Nur standortunabhängig. Mit Screen-Recording zeichnen Sie die Testings für die Analyse auf. Diese Anwendungen eignen sich ebenfalls bestens für Remote Usability Testings für Webseiten oder webbasierende Applikationen.

Mit Tools wie «Look Back» haben wir die volle Kontrolle über die Testabläufe und sorgen für ergebnisreiche Resultate und eine erfolgreiche Optimierung Ihrer App oder Webseite. (Bild-Quelle: Look Back)

Variante 2: Recording und Eyetracking

Wenn Sie eine grössere Anzahl User Testen wollen –  aber dennoch mit einem qualitativ Approach – wählen Sie den Weg mit Emotion-Tracking oder Eye-Tracking. Die Testperson startet die zu testenden Applikation aus einer speziellen App heraus. Diese zeichnet danach über die interne Handykamera das Bild des Users auf. Dabei wird das Videobild von zwei Algorithmen analysiert. So kann gleichzeitig die Bewegung des Blickes und die Emotion gemessen werden.

Die Kamera erfasst das Gesicht des Users während des Testings und analysiert dessen Augenbewegung und Gesichts-Mimik. (Bild-Quelle: UXReality)

6 Tipps, wie Sie Ihr Remote User Testing richtig vorbereiten:

Tools, losgelöst von Erfahrungswerten oder der entsprechenden Vorbereitung zu nutzen, kann zu frustrierenden Erfahrungen führen. Deshalb hier ein paar wertvolle Tipps, wie Sie die Grundlage für eine erfolgreiche App-Optimierung schaffen können:

1. Test-Ziele definieren
Klare Ziele führen zu klaren und messbaren Ergebnissen.
Haben Sie «Verdachtsmomente» über allfällige Schwachstellen Ihres Produktes?
To do: Formulieren Sie drei Bulletpoints mit erhofften «Learnings»

2. Test-Methode wählen
Abhängig von Ihrem definierten Ziel, kommt eine andere Testmethode zum Einsatz:
UX-Testing oder Usability-Testing. Experience-Tests (UX) und Usability Tests bedienen zwei verschiedene Wirkungsfelder für die Optimierung Ihrer App.

«Usability» ist die Art und Weise, wie ein Produkt von Benutzern verwendet werden kann um bestimmte Ziele zu erreichen. Usability-Tests zielen darauf ab, herauszufinden, inwieweit das Design einfach zu benutzen ist und ob die Bedienung verständlich ist.

«User Experience» ist die funktionale Wahrnehmung des Produktes. Ein wichtiger Bestandteil der User-Experience-Tests ist die Beobachtung der Bewegungen und Emotionen sowie die zusätzliche Befragung des Users.

3. Test-Stories definieren
Zur effektiven Analyse der Testings werden vergleichbare Werte benötigt. Deshalb werden den Testpersonen verschiedene, kurze Aufgaben «Test-Tasks» aufgetragen. Beispielsweise für eine Marktplatz-App: «Suchen Sie ein City-Bike unterhalb der Preisgrenze CHF 200.-»
To do: Notieren Sie 4-6 klar formulierte Aufgaben.

4. Test-Leitfaden & Test-Protokoll vorbereiten
Kein Testing ohne Plan. Das Test-Script ist der Leitfaden mit welchem der Moderator die Testperson Schritt für Schritt durch die Tasks begleitet, während die beobachtende Person bereits Beobachtungen im Test-Protokoll vermerkt.
To do: Dokument für Test-Leitfaden und Protokoll erstellen.

5. Testpersonen definieren und rekrutieren
Die Testpersonen müssen zwingend die späteren Anwender*innen des Produktes sein. Eine App für Migräne kann beispielsweise nicht von jemandem beurteilt werden, der noch nie Migräne-Attacken erlitten hat. Für barrierefreie Produkte ist folglich ein Testing mit Menschen mit Einschränkung unabdingbar. Sie werden wertvolle Tipps erhalten.
To do: Rekrutieren Sie Testpersonen über entsprechende Dienstleister. Zugang zu Menschen mit Einschränkungen erhalten Sie am besten über spezifische Verbände.

6. Test-Dokumentation
Halten Sie wenn immer möglich das Testing auf Video fest. Damit Sie die Erkenntnisse aus Ihren Testings internen Stakeholder oder Ihrem Design- bzw. Entwicklungsteam nachvollziehbar weiter geben können empfiehlt sich eine Dokumentation nach Test-Story geordnet. Fassen Sie in einer Einleitung ganz kurz die Rahmenbedingungen des Testings fest.
To do: Video-Einrichtung vorbereiten

Dürfen wir Sie unterstützen?

Viel Spass bei Ausprobieren und viel Erfolg bei Ihren Testings. Wenn wir Sie bei der Analyse und Optimierung Ihrer digitalen Touchpoints unterstützen dürfen, kontaktieren Sie uns unverbindlich. Gerne unterstützt Sie unser Team beim Aufbereiten und Durchführen der Remote-User-Testings für Ihre App oder Ihre Webseite.

Unsere Services:

  • Prototypen erstellen
  • Testpersonen rekrutieren
  • Testleitfaden schreiben
  • Organisation und Durchführung der Testings
  • Analyse und Reporting
  • Design-Umsetzung der Verbesserungen

Sie möchten die Anwenderperspektive
auf Ihr Produkt kennenlernen?

Kontaktieren Sie uns.
Wir zeigen Ihnen gerne die
nächsten Schritte auf.

=